Enter the product name, part number or cross-reference below...

Quality Certifications

Quality Certifications

Knapp Fasteners Inc.

2 min read

Dependent on your industry, you may be more familiar with the different types of certifications that are required for certain end-users. Certifications are frequently required for military parts but there’s many other industries that require them. See below for the different types of certifications.

Certificate of Conformance (C of C)

A Knapp issued document stating that the product meets the specifications. Identifies the size and strength of the goods supplied.

Statement of Quality (SoQ)

This is a document that is very similar to a C of C. It states that the products provided are as specified. This document is only provided on Spaenaur products which we cannot supply a C of C for.

Restriction of Hazardous Substances (RoHS)

This states that the products sold do not contain six different types of hazardous substances. It originated in the European Union for electronic components to ensure there is not an unnecessary amount of chemicals in products. ROHS 2 and ROHS 3 are newer versions which cover a larger range of products and restricted substances.

Registration, Evaluation, Authorisation, and Restriction of Chemicals (REACH)

REACH indicates the use of chemical substances of very high concern and their impacts on people and the environment. This certification states if goods are in compliance with EU REACH regulations which is required when products are imported into the EU.

Production Part Approval Process (PPAP)

There are different levels of this certification which refers to different levels of information that are required. This is one of the more difficult certifications to get and it’s very limited on which products have it. It is typically the costliest certification. This cert is generally used in the automotive industry.

Material Test Report (MTR or Mill Test)

A document from the manufacturer that lists the physical properties of the goods. Some of the things listed include the standards compliance, dimensions, chemical properties, physical properties, and country of origin.

Defense Federal Acquisition Regulation Supplement (DFARS)

DFARS is primarily required for military items for the Department of Defense. It states if items are made from a specialty metal that they must be melted and produced in the USA or from a list of other Qualified countries. For the product to be compliant, the steel must be made in one of these specific countries.

Conflict Mineral Compliance

This states that the product does not contain product that was mined in areas of armed conflict and human rights abuses. One of the most prevalent areas is the Democratic Republic of Congo and surrounding areas. Products included in this are Tantalum, Tin, Tungsten, and Gold.


The best way to ensure you get the certifications you require is to ask when you send in your initial quote request. This allows us to make sure that you have exactly what you need when you get the products and that all costs are accounted for.

If you have any quality questions, please reach out to our sales team and we can direct your inquiry to our in-house quality engineer!